Connect with us

European Rugby

Gloucester make 7 changes for Challenge Cup semi-final

Gloucester Director of Rugby George Skivington has made seven changes to the side that lost 38-17 to Exeter last weekend, as they prepare for a home Challenge Cup semi-final. 

Josh Hathaway returns to the side at fullback, with England internationals Jonny May and Ollie Thorley named on the wings. British and Irish Lion Chris Harris keeps his spot at 13, with Seb Atkinson joining in him midfield. Outgoing fly-half Adam Hastings also returns to the side to partner young scrum-half Caolin Englefield.

Mayco Vivas starts alongside Seb Blake and Kirill Gotovtsev in the front-row. Freddie’s Clarke and Thomas start in the second-row, and Ruan Ackermann, captain Lewis Ludlow and Zach Mercer complete the starting side.

Italian international Stephen Varney is named on the bench.

For Bentton, Rhyno Smith starts at fullback, withIgnacio Mendy and Onisi Ratave starting on the wings. Italian international centres Tommaso Menoncello and Igancio Brex will again form their deadly partnership in midfield. Tomas Albornoz and Alessandro Garbisi complete the back line.

Thomas Gallo, Giacomo Nicotera and Simone Ferrari start in the front-row, with Scott Scrafton and Eli Snyman named in the second-row. Seb Negri starts alongside captain Michele Lamaro and Toa Halafihi in a strong back-row.

Former Bristol Bear Andy Uren is the headline name on the bench.

Gloucester vs Benetton full line-up

Credit: IMAGO


Starting XV: Josh Hathaway, Jonny May, Chris Harris, Seb Atkinson, Ollie Thorley, Adam Hastings, Caolan Englefield; Mayco Vivas, Seb Blake, Kirill Gotovtsev, Freddie Clarke, Freddie Thomas, Ruan Ackermann, Lewis Ludlow (c), Zach Mercer

Replacements: Santiago Socino, Jamal Ford-Robinson, Ciaran Knight, Albert Tuisue, Jack Clement, Stephen Varney, Charlie Atkinson, Alex Hearle


Starting XV: Rhyno Smith, Ignacio Mendy, Tommaso Menoncello, Nacho Brex, Onisi Ratave, Tomas Albornoz, Alessandro Garbisi; Thomas Gallo, Giacomo Nicotera, Simone Ferrari, Scott Scrafton, Eli Snyman, Sebastian Negri, Michele Lamaro (c), Toa Halafihi

Replacements: Gianmarco Lucchesi, Mirco Spagnolo, Giosue Zilocchi, Niccolo Cannone, Edoardo Iachizzi, Alessandro Izekor, Andy Uren, Leonardo Marin