Connect with us

Premiership News

Gallagher Premiership Player of the Season shortlist revealed

Courtney Lawes, Henry Slade, Finn Russell and Fin Smith have all been nominated for Gallagher Premiership Player of the Season following the conclusion of the regular season. 

All four players played an influential role in their sides this season. Since joining Bath, Russell has gone onto play 14 out of his side’s 18 Premiership games this season, helping to drive them back into the play-offs for the first time since 2015.

Henry Slade has also become one of the main leaders in a new-look Chiefs squad. He has also played in 16 out of the 18 fixtures this season. Slade also finished the season as Exeter’s top points scorer.

Saints duo Courtney Lawes and Fin Smith have also been integral to their side clinching a play-off berth. Lawes has registered 10 Premiership appearances since his return from the World Cup, with Smith making 16 Premiership appearances. Smith was also his side’s top points scorer this season. The pair were also nominated for European Player of the Year back in April.

Elsewhere, Phil Dowson, Johann van Graan, Alex Sanderson and Mark McCall have all been shortlisted for DoR of the Season, after guiding their teams into the play-offs. Dowson’s Northampton Saints romped to the top of the table in just his second campaign at the helm. His counterpart Johann van Graan has steered Bath into their first home semi-final since 2015. Sanderson and McCall have also reached the play-offs for the second and third seasons in a row respectively.

Fin Baxter, Chandler Cunningham-South, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso and Guy Pepper have also been shortlisted for Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Gallagher Premiership Awards

Community Player of the Season, presented by Funding Circle

Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby)

Andy Christie (Saracens)

Tom James (Northampton Saints)

Ethan Waller (Northampton Saints)


Premiership Rugby Try of the Season

Tyrone Green (Harlequins: Round 4 vs Newcastle Falcons)

Tom James (Northampton Saints: Round 17 vs Gloucester Rugby)

Benhard Janse van Rensburg (Bristol Bears: Round 15 vs Newcastle Falcons)

Louis Lynagh (Harlequins: Round 17 vs Exeter Chiefs)


Breakthrough Player of the Season, presented by Defender

Fin Baxter (Harlequins)

Chandler Cunningham-South (Harlequins)

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter Chiefs)

Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons)


Director of Rugby of the Season, presented by London Pride

Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)

Johann van Graan (Bath Rugby)

Alex Sanderson (Sale Sharks)

Mark McCall (Saracens)


Gallagher Player of the Season

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Finn Russell (Bath Rugby)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Fin Smith (Northampton Saints)