Connect with us

Exeter Chiefs

Exeter Chiefs unchanged for make-or-break clash with Harlequins

Exeter Chiefs Director of Rugby Rob Baxter has resisted the temptation to make any changes to the team that beat Gloucester two weeks ago. 

Dan John will once again start at fullback. Immanuel Feyi-Waboso and Olly Woodburn are named on the wings. Henry Slade and Joe Hawkins are again named in the centres, and Harvey Skinner and Tom Cairns reunite at half-back.

In the pack, Scott Sio starts alongside Jack Yeandle and Marcus Street. Jack Dunne and captain Dafydd Jenkins start in the second-row. Ethan Roots, Jacques Vermeulen and Greg Fisilau form a formidable back-row.

International duo Christ Tshiunza and Ross Vintcent are the headline names on the bench.

Harlequins have made four changes to the side that lost to Toulouse at the weekend.

Joe Marler, James Chisholm, Will Porter and Oscar Beard come in for Fin Baxter, Will Evans, Danny Care and Andre Esterhuizen.

In the backline, the red hot Tyrone Green starts at fullback, with Cadan Murley and Louis Lynagh on the wings. Luke Northmore shifts across to 12, with Beard taking the 13 shirt. Marcus Smith starts at 10, with the afore mentioned Porter at 9.

In the pack, Marler starts alongside Jack Walker and Will Collier. Irne Herbst and skipper Stephan Lewies start at lock, with Chandler Cunningham-South, the afore mentioned Chisholm and Alex Dombrandt rounding off the team.

Quins have uncharacteristically named a 6:2 bench for the clash, with Jack Kenningham also returning to the side. Evans, Baxter and Care also drop down to the bench.

This game is huge for both sides. A win for Exeter would see them leapfrog Harlequins going into the final weekend; but a win for the Londoners would condemn Exeter to another year without play-offs.

Exeter Chiefs vs Harlequins teams in full


Exeter Chiefs: Dan John, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, Henry Slade, Joe Hawkins, Olly Woodburn, Harvey Skinner,  Tom Cairns; Scott Sio, Jack Yeandle, Marcus Street, Jack Dunne, Dafydd Jenkins (C), Ethan Roots, Jacques Vermeulen, Greg Fisilau

Replacements: Max Norey, Billy Keast, Ehren Painter, Christ Tshiunza, Ross Vintcent, Niall Armstrong, Will Haydon-Wood, Zack Wimbush

Harlequins: Tyrone Green, Cadan Murley, Oscar Beard, Luke Northmore, Louis Lynagh, Marcus Smith, Will Porter; Joe Marler, Jack Walker Will Collier, Irne Herbst, Stephan Lewies (C), Chandler Cunningham-South, James Chisholm, Alex Dombrandt

Replacements: Sam Riley, Fin Baxter, Dillon Lewis, George Hammond, Jack Kenningham, Will Evans, Danny Care, Jarrod Evans