Connect with us

European Rugby

Antoine Dupont named European Player of the Year

Toulouse and France scrum-half Antoine Dupont has been named as the 2024 European Player of the Year.

Dupont becomes the first ever player to win the award on two occasions, with his first coming in 2021.

The scrum-half was also named Man of the Match in his side’s 31-22 victory over Leinster yesterday. He made an impressive four turnovers on their way to a historic sixth European title, and was also his side’s main ball carrier with 15 carries.

Across the tournament, Antoine Dupont was a key figure for his side. He started all seven games, and finished as the tournaments fourth top try scorer with five tries. He also led the way for carries and offloads, and was second for both passes and clean breaks.

Close to 30,000 fan votes were cast this season, which were later combined with the votes from the judging panel. This year’s panel consisted of Jim Hamilton, Francois Louw, Ugo Monye, Elma Smit and Dimitri Yachvili.

Dupont also beat off stern competition from Leinster’s Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson-Park, James Lowe and Dan Sheehan. Premiership trio Courtney Lawes, Fin Smith and Marcus Smith were also named on the shortlist.

He is also the second Frenchman in a row to win the award, with Gregory Alldritt winning the award last season.

Following his second Champions Cup title, and second European Player of the Year award, Dupont turns his attention back onto the Top 14, before joining back up with the French Olympic Sevens team for this Summer’s Olympic Games.

European Player of the Year Roll of Honour

Antoine Dupont claiming the European Player of the Year award-Credit: EPCR

Antoine Dupont claiming the European Player of the Year award-Credit: EPCR

2024: Antoine Dupont

2023: Gregory Alldritt

2022: Josh van der Flier

2021: Antoine Dupont

2020: Sam Simmonds

2019: Alex Goode

2018: Leone Nakarawa

2017: Owen Farrell

2016: Maro Itoje

2015: Nick Abendanon

2014: Steffon Armitage

2013: Jonny Wilkinson

2012: Rob Kearney

2011: Sean O’Brien

2010: Ronan O’Gara